Humanity in Wonderland – Christ in All, All in Christ

Nee Inclusion

Who is in Christ? And Who is Christ in?

Many people consider the description “in Christ” or having “Christ in you” to be synonymous with having been “saved” or being a “believer” or a “christian.”

I believe this kind of reading of the New Testament comes from a dualistic mindset that divides humanity into “them” and “us”; those who are in Christ and those who are not; those who have Christ in them and those who don’t.

Is this really the case?

Before you stone me for even daring to question such a distinction, let me say that I understand that there are those who believe and those who do not. That’s not what I’m questioning.

What I’m questioning is the following. Was it really our believing that put ourselves in Christ? Was it really our asking Jesus to “come into our heart” that caused him to do so? Was is really dependent on our initiative?

It’s not difficult to find statements in bibles that seem to assert that some people are not in Christ or do not have Christ in them. Knowing that many of us have come to the scriptures with the dualistic perspective that we have been taught, however, it is not surprising that many have interpreted such passages in a divisive way. I’m willing to bet that most people haven’t even considered whether there is another way to understand them.

I maintain that, in general, such passages are referring to people’s understanding, experiences, and ways of living rather than their being.

Objectively (ontologically), all are in Christ; subjectively (experientially), not all are.

Do people know and believe that they have been redeemed? Have they realized that they were included in the life, death, resurrection, and ascension of Jesus, that they have been put in Christ and Christ in them? If not, even if it is true, it will not benefit them; they will keep operating under their false perceptions of reality that they have always believed in. They will not experience relationship with God because they are not aware of his presence with them.

Some might object: if everyone really is in Christ, why is the phrase used so often in the New Testament? What’s the use of pointing out something that is true of everyone? That’s like telling a group of people that they are all humans. Useless!

There’s another way of looking at it.

Imagine speaking to a room full of parents and saying, “if you have children, you know that feeling when you held your first newborn baby in your arms.” Here, the purpose in saying “if you have children” isn’t to distinguish between those that do and don’t have children but to emphasize that because you indeed do have children, you know the feeling.

In like manner, the “if” in “if you are in Christ” is not a conditional if but a conclusive if, as in “if it is true that you are in Christ (which it is), then [insert awesome thing that results from being in Christ].” The phrase is not used to communicate something believers have but unbelievers don’t. Drawing such distinctions is useless. The point in including such a phrase is to remind the reader of their source; it is because they are in Christ that all these amazing things are true about them. Further, this phrase is used to communicate what should be obvious to the readers. It’s like saying, “how could you not  be such and such…I mean, you’re in Christ. Come on!”

Does this sound too good to be true?

If so, good! Because the Good News indeed is.

You were put in Christ when you were created. The entire universe was created in Christ (Ephesians 2:10, Colossians 1:16).

The entire universe exists in Christ and is held together by him (Colossians 1:17).

That is why Paul tells pagans that they live and move and have their being in God (Acts 17:28).

We don’t get into Christ by anything we do.  It is by God’s doing that we are in Christ (1 Corinthians 1:30).

Thus could Paul write that God was pleased to reveal Christ in Paul so that Paul could preach Christ among (same Greek word as the “in” of “in Paul” just before it) the Gentiles (Galatians 1:16). Christ was already in Paul as well as in the Gentiles; it was simply a matter of God revealing it and Paul realizing it.

“God willed to make known what is the riches of the glory of this mystery among (in) the Gentiles, which is Christ in you, the hope of glory” (Colossians 1:27, emphasis mine).

There are no longer any significant dividing lines between people. What matters is the common denominator of Christ in all.

“There is no distinction between Greek and Jew, circumcised and uncircumcised, barbarian, uncivilized, slave or free; but Christ is all, and in all” (Colossians 3:11).

When God comes to humanity in the history of Jesus Christ, humanity at the same time is brought to God in that history objectively. It is not faith which incorporates humanity into Jesus Christ. Faith is rather the acknowledgment of a mysterious incorporation already objectively accomplished on humanity’s behalf. “One had died for all; therefore all have died” (2 Cor. 5:14). That all have died in Christ (and been raised with him) is the hidden truth of humanity as revealed to faith. Our true humanity is to be found not in ourselves but objectively in him. – George Hunsinger

I can no longer look at anyone from a merely human perspective anymore (2 Corinthians 5:16). God reconciled the entire cosmos, including all humanity, to himself (v. 19). The same people on whose behalf Jesus became sin became the righteousness of God in Christ (v. 21).

The Father of all is in all (Ephesians 4:6).

“When all things are subjected to him, then the Son himself will also be subjected to him who put all things in subjection under him, that God may be all in all.” (1 Corinthians 15:28, emphasis mine).

“For as in Adam all die, so also in Christ shall all be made alive.” (1 Corinthians 15:22, emphasis mine).

And I could on. But I think you get the point.

There are no outsiders.

All humanity is exploring the wonderland of Christ.

We are not magically brought into Christ by fulfilling some condition such as confessing, repenting, or believing. These things have their place, but they are not prerequisites for inclusion.

Do you see Christ in everyone? Or are you only looking at the outward appearance?

*****

Also see:

Steve McVey on humanity’s inclusion
http://gracewalkministries.blogspot.jp/2013/06/from-secret-of-grace.html

Quotes on the inclusion of all humanity in Christ
http://thesurprisinggodblog.gci.org/p/relevant-quotes.html

15 thoughts on “Humanity in Wonderland – Christ in All, All in Christ

  1. The video wasn’t working for me and may have answered some questions but you believe that all are in Christ & Christ is in all even if they don’t believe in Jesus? What does “in Christ ” mean to you? I read in another place that inclusionists believe that all are saved but a person can loose their salvation. Is that true? (Sorry, I’m new to this) Also, do inclusionists believe in reincarnation?

    • Here’s the link to the video on youtube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IxT1xeS6dvM

      Yes, I believe all are in Christ and Christ is in all regardless of belief in Jesus. “In Christ” to me basically means whatever it says in scriptures, as in all the things where (mainly) Paul says “if you are in Christ, then [everything here].”

      I think “saved” is used in different in the scriptures. In regards to heaven/hell, you can see some of my thoughts in my recent video: https://supernaturalgospel.wordpress.com/2013/08/21/heaven-hell-and-universalism/

      I think most inclusionists would say that they don’t believe in reincarnation.

      • Watched the videos. As to whether you believe a person can loose their salvation, am I right in interpreting you to believe that you don’t believe in hell so in that respect all are saved from hell? I read that you have some sort of mystical background. If that is correct, do you know the work of Joel Goldsmith? Seems you have done research into early church. Did you not find that reincarnation was commonly accepted?

        Would these assumptions(below) of what you believe or are open to believe correct?
        We are fully united w/ God & Christ, it’s just a matter of awakening to that fact.
        Jesus may not come back to earth as a man (as most Christians believe -the 2nd coming)
        All God’s creation will be restored
        We are all going to be or are being pressed into the Kingdom

        You Love answr. questions so I can pick your brain as much as I want LOL?

    • I’m not sure what I believe about the afterlife, but I find the idea of a location called “hell” where people suffer hard to find in the scriptures. That’s interesting. I’ve never been told I have a mystical background lol! But I guess you might say that, as I believe and experience healing the sick, talking with God, etc. But I haven’t heard of Joel Goldsmith. And I haven’t ever done research on reincarnation in the early church. Sounds interesting though.

      And, generally, the assumptions you give are correct. I’m not sure on some things though, and I’m fine with that.

      What do you think about all this?

      Do I know you personally?

      • Know me personally? Maybe in another life LOL. (I’m glad I can say that w/o being slammed the way I would be on another site) I have problems understanding some of the ideas or maybe more the phrases that are being used today especially in the Grace teachings although I do like the teachings for the most part yet I guess I still think much differently from them. In some of the writings & videos of yours, I am hearing some of the ideas& phrases that I’m more used to. The 4 ideas that I asked about, come from a minister from my childhood church back in the 60’s.(The minister was born in the late 1800’s) I was too young to understand any of it but in recent years, I found some old reel to reel tapes of sermons from the church. I guess I’m still having a difficult time understanding her since her teachings are very deep. Her & Goldsmith are very similar in what they taught but she was much more Biblical/Holy Spirit/Jesus. I guess sometimes I just feel like an alien so I’m happy to hear some of the same ideas coming from someone else. I’m not sure about some things (the same as you) but I’m NOT fine w/that LOL. The wealth of true Knowing that both Goldsmith & the minister that I grew up with had, is mind boggling. If I could have a fraction of what they had, I would be rich too. LOL Where do you get most of your info? Studying scriptures and other writings? Do you meditate? Did I read that you are in CA.? Did you help write a book w/Benjamin Dunn? Do you have much experience in healing? Any info on this site about that? Oh, another one: We live & move & have our being in God & in God alone. For all? According to Rev G (my childhood minister) that is for all and could be no other way.

    • LoL. I rebuke you in Jesus name! ;]

      I get my info from reading (books and online), watching videos (online), and hanging out with Jesus. Yeah I meditate, although it might look different than what is often considered to be meditation lol. No I’m actually in Tokyo, Japan. And I didn’t help write any books with Ben Dunn, but I have read his “The Happy Gospel.” I have some experience in healing (i.e. I have seen some people get healed after “praying” for them…more like commanding it lol), but honestly I have more knowledge (scriptural) about it. Looking to flip that around. Hehe. I haven’t posted much on healing here, but I could connect you to free resources on healing (there’s tons of good stuff out there, which is why I haven’t really posted anything). If so, contact me on FB: https://www.facebook.com/supernaturalgospel

      Yes, I would say all people live and move and have our being in God. After all, that phrase comes from Paul, and he said that to a bunch of “pagans.” Why should our beliefs limit the “location” of God? lol

      • I must have you mixed up w/someone else. I guess I don’t know your name. I’m not a part of Facebook. It seems different people have different ways when it comes to healing. I think Rev G. did a combination Holy Spirit & combined w/Knowing the truth. Maybe similar to Wommack.
        J.G. had a totally different way than anyone else that I’ve heard of. He usually didn’t meet with people, lay hands on or rebuke.He didn’t even want to know any details of what they wanted prayer for. If you have a passion for Healing work, you might be interested in reading some of his books. If you don’t go along w/all of his ways, you can chew what’s worthwhile & spit out the rest and set maybe’s on a shelf. Most of J.G. healing work was just connecting w/God (at least that’s the way I understand it) resulting in the healing of persons within his consciousness.
        You talk about “commanding” in healing work. Someone that knew J.G. personally throughout the years told a story that went something like this: The person enjoyed visiting a Yogi? that was always very welcoming and showered him with Love. But if he mentioned that he was having stomach pain, there was no difference in how he felt in the time he spent w/the person. But if he went to J.G. and was rolling on the floor in pain, J.G. would just sternly tell him something like “Get up, get off the floor. Nothing is wrong with you. He’d get up and the pain would be gone. I kinda think that was the way Jesus saw/knew things. I think he knew their wholeness as the truth and the sickness as an illusion or lie. But I think there has to be a true Knowing to do that type of healing work. Much to Ponder. Will read more of your work.
        More about living, moving & having our being in God – w/God being our creator, where else could our Being be? LOL

    • Interesting stuff. I honestly don’t know what to think about healing, except that its real and anyone can work it, potentially. There also seems to be plenty of people who work healing apart from any understanding of Jesus or God. Many are quick to demonize such people, but I can’t do that. Anyhow, thanks for sharing your thoughts 🙂

      • Rev G & J.G. always strongly warned against getting into any type of Magik. Knowing their character & their Love relationship w/God, that’s enough for me. There may be some that don’t have a conscious understanding yet still have an inner knowing (from what I understand, when God started using J.G. for healing, he only knew one prayer from his childhood & had no idea why people were coming up to him asking him to pray for them & being healed – all he knew was to step aside and leave it to God) but then there is Magik out there that does work, but I wouldn’t get mixed up in it just b/c it works.

    • But my point/thought was this: what if the so-called “magik” isn’t magik but simply how reality works? What if it wasn’t “miracles” but instead the way nature operates? In other words, is divine intervention a necessity for spectacular healings to take place? Or are our minds more powerful than we, in our Western post-enlightenment mindsets, have grown up believing?

      • Reality IS God. Our minds are very powerful. That’s why many of us appear to be in deep sh-t. I don’t know what type of Magik you are talking about but like I said, with the wealth of knowledge that Rev G & J.G.. had, if they warned against it, that’s enough for me (and I think I am pretty open minded). The person that I talked about before that knew J.G. was given some info about magik but told never to use it. In curiosity he couldn’t resist trying it out. He definitely regretted that decision and never, never used it again. Magik can be used for good or bad. Maybe there in lies the problem. The temptation for the bad that many could fall into w/o even realizing it. ????? Don’t know. God can’t be used for bad. Also, if we accomplished what we wanted to w/magik (or manipulation of others, or through lies, or through Etc.) I think that would just put us into a position of not seeing our need for God/Jesus/Holy Spirit. Choose God!

      • I get the spelling Majik from the internet LOL. I think it has to do w/witchcraft , shamanism etc. Don’t know why they call it magik instead of magic. I’m OK w/people that have different beliefs than mine (I’m in a class where every person there varies in what they believe but we are all able to get together and study books that we all agree on ) I was in another class though where I believe someone was practicing magik/magic and in that class we prayed over each other at the end. That was taking it too far for me. The class was on Fri nights and I usually spent Sat irritable or crying. The person is in all appearance, a very nice person but something weird was going on?????? The person is young & experimenting w/things she thinks are good. Maybe it had nothing to do w/that but since I quit going, I’m doing fine on Sat.

  2. Pingback: Unconditional Salvation (Part 2) | Supernatural Gospel

Leave a Reply

